Emory Undergraduates Inducted into Sigma Pi Sigma, Physics Honor Society

Twelve distinguished Emory College of Arts and Sciences undergraduate students met the high standards of achievement required for induction into Sigma Pi Sigma (SPS), the Physics Honor Society of the American Institute of Physics. Many are members of Emory’s thriving Society of Physics Students (SPS) chapter. They include juniors, Gustavo Borjas, Justin Burton, Yang Chen, Hua Fang, Erin Neely, Christopher Presley, and Neil Tramsen, and seniors, Julian Haladus-Henke, Anisa Hofert, Gabrielle Pludo, Charlotte Selton, and Bin Wu.

Membership in Sigma Pi Sigma at Emory requires academic standing in the top third of the entire class, which this year entailed an overall grade point average (gpa) of greater than 3.76, as well as a gpa of 3.5 or greater in the physics curriculum.

The mission of Sigma Pi Sigma is summarized in the Four Dimensions: Honor, Encouragement, Service, and Fellowship. Together these dimensions represent distinctive achievement and high scholarship in physics, and the impetus for the furtherance of the principles of creative thinking and analytical rigor in science, and by communication of these principles in everyday life. As symbolized in the Sigma Pi Sigma insignia, the dynamo of physics is the source of illumination or discovery, which provides knowledge (SOFIA). The new inductees will use their learning and experiences to carry this charge beyond Emory – Congratulations!

Leave a Reply